Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross: a Lenten Devotion

The ‘Stations of the Cross’, also known as ‘The Way of The Cross’, is a Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The Stations of the Cross are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday – the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons, or images.  Taken together, the stations are used as a mini pilgrimage, particularly during Lent, and it reflects the journey of pilgrims following Jesus’ actual footsteps in the Holy Land. The Stations help us to ‘spiritually connect’ with the suffering and death of Jesus; after all, he went through all that pain and suffering to save us.

The 14 Stations are as follows:

1.Jesus is condemned to death8.Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
2.Jesus accepts the cross9.Jesus falls the third time
3.Jesus fall the first time10.Jesus is stripped of His garments
4.Jesus meets His Mother11.Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
5.Simon of Cyrene carries the cross12.Jesus dies on the cross
6.Veronica wipes the face of Jesus13.Jesus’ body is removed from the cross
7.Jesus falls the second time14.Jesus is placed in the tomb

Here at St Marie’s, our Stations are beautiful wood carvings.

How to Participate in the Stations of the Cross:

This Lent, you are welcome to join in with a parish group praying the Stations of the Cross on Tuesdays (immediately after the 12:30pm Mass), and on Fridays (immediately after the 5:30pm Mass). On Good Friday, Stations of the Cross will be led at 7:30pm.

Alternatively, you can use the video below to do your own Stations of the Cross at home: